Circle of Dust

Circle of Dust has returned!

Both the classic albums Brainchild and Circle of Dust have been reissued and remastered with new 2016 recordings, demoes, and alternate versions as bonuses!

Since Circle of Dust will likely never play live, I decided to have some fun and make a playlist of all the remastered tracks and new tracks arranged by key and BPM. I used Traktor for this and my raw table is included below.

Num. Title Artist Time BPM Release Key
1 Course of Ruin Circle of Dust 05:02 141.632 Brainchild (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 2m
2 Demoralize Circle of Dust 04:10 142.008 Circle of Dust (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 3m
3 Nothing Sacred Circle of Dust 06:10 92.003 Circle of Dust (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 4m
4 Rational Lies Circle of Dust 04:37 96.002 Circle of Dust (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 5m
5 Telltale Crime Circle of Dust 04:19 110.036 Brainchild (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 5d
6 Bed of Nails Circle of Dust 03:35 110.998 Circle of Dust (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 7m
7 Parasite Circle of Dust 03:41 117.999 Circle of Dust (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 7m
8 Exploration (Redux) Circle of Dust 03:51 130.001 Circle of Dust (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 9m
9 Am I In Sync? Circle of Dust 05:50 132.038 Brainchild (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 9m
10 Onenemy Circle of Dust 04:51 134.002 Circle of Dust (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 10m
11 Self Inflict Circle of Dust 05:28 126.044 Circle of Dust (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 10m
12 Deviate Circle of Dust 05:07 102.035 Brainchild (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 10m
13 Pale Reflection Circle of Dust 05:08 99.677 Brainchild (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 10m
14 Descend Circle of Dust 05:30 115.660 Brainchild (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 11m
15 Twisted Reality Circle of Dust 05:10 135.003 Circle of Dust (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 11d
16 Enshrined Circle of Dust 04:04 139.625 Brainchild (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 11m
17 Cranial Tyrant Circle of Dust 04:12 149.613 Brainchild (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 11d
18 Prayers of a Dead Man Circle of Dust 06:17 87.029 Brainchild (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 12m
19 Consequence Circle of Dust 04:40 94.006 Circle of Dust (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 12m
20 Contagion Circle of Dust 05:25 100.000 Brainchild (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 12m
21 Dissolved Circle of Dust 05:23 116.002 Circle of Dust (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 12m
22 Regressor (Aggressive Mix) Circle of Dust 06:12 129.657 Brainchild (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 12m
23 Nightfall Circle of Dust 05:50 130.008 Circle of Dust (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 12m
24 Neophyte Circle of Dust 06:01 130.000 Circle of Dust (Remastered) [Deluxe Edition] 12m

The ultimate Nirvana playlist

In 1994, Nirvana set out on what would be their last tour in support of In Utero. Their setlists were fairly static at the time, drawing heavily from both In Utero and Nevermind. But some shows were significant. “Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle” was rarely played in Europe, switched out with the nearly Europe-only “Very Ape.” “Sappy” was played for the first time since 1990 on this leg too, but only at a handful of shows. The leg itself was cut off after March 1st, the final Nirvana show.

The February 16th show at Rennes, France is significant as it has both of the aforementioned rare tracks appearing in the Encore:

In 2011, Nevermind was reissued in a “Super Deluxe” fashion containing “Devonshire” mixes of all songs except for “Polly” (which wasn’t tracked at Sound City – it came from the Smart Sessions). This mix was done by Butch Vig and significantly more raw than it’s multiplatinum counterpart.

The same could be said for Steve Albini’s “2013 Mix” of In Utero, which is on both the Deluxe and Super Deluxe reissues of the album.

A great playlist is three things:
1. Song Selection
2. Song order
3. Track Version Control1

The first two were provided by Nirvana in France. The second was brought to you by the producers of their classic records. Turn it up and enjoy. Use just once and destroy.

  1. (which version of the track you choose) 

Haujobb vinyl reissues

So three of my favorite and most influential Haujobb records are being issued on vinyl for the first time ever by Artoffact:

I grew up on Haujobb and then ended up playing keyboards live for them and contributing to New World March. These three were my high school soundtrack.

Listen to the Freeze Frame Reality vinyl tracklist on Apple Music:


In case you missed it, I put out a brand new EP this weekend:

Track list:

  1. Gypsy miner
  2. Basic
  3. Social stroke, part one
  4. Social stroke, part two
  5. When all else fails
  6. When all else falls

Enjoy wherever you have an account:

Apple Music:
Google Play:

Additionally, any future orders of the classic $10 Tricil t-shirt will come with a download of the EP for free in your choice of format:

Finally, as always, remix stems are available on Blend:

Gypsy miner:
Social stroke:

How to Destroy Angels: The Space in Between (TRICIL Remix)

This is my remix of How To Destroy Angels’ The Space in Between. I’ve had this track kicking around for almost a year now, and never got around to releasing it, so here it is. I added a few tweaks here and there and sent it off to Randy Garcia (who’s playing Nophest with me) for mastering.

Because the track is 74BPM (or 148, depending on how you feel it), I didn’t want to create a typical “dubstep remix” of this track, I wanted to keep the menacing feel but make it a little groovier and pulsating. The Swarmatron-esque drone that goes throughout the whole song isn’t actually a Swarmatron sample at all, it’s the original drum track put through a distorted Resonator in the right channel with a Grain Delay an octave higher on the left. The pitch of the Resonator was “played” manually via knob recorded in real-time to give it a more human feel.

I dig this mix and am happy to share it with you this month. I’ve got a lot of cool things to tell you that you’ll find out in due time – all I can say is that it’s a very exciting time to be a music fan. The New World March has begun.

I hope you enjoy it, and if you do, please tell a friend!